This feature is still in BETA and bugs may be present. If you experience instability, please disable the feature and contact support with your feedback.
When you have multiple people scheduling, it can be very useful to see changes to bookings appear in realtime, without having to constantly reload the schedule.
In version 2019.4.0 we introduced a BETA version of 'Realtime Schedule Updates' which instantly sends new bookings and changes to existing bookings to all connected and eligbile clients.
Enabling / Disabling Realtime Updates
As the feature is still in BETA, this feature must be enabled manually for real time updates to start working.
Your administrator can enable/disable the feature at Admin -> Module Settings -> Schedule -> Schedule Settings. Please see this linked article for more information.
Realtime Updates Requirements
To see changes to bookings in realtime the logged in user must obviously have a minimum of read access (write access is not required) to the schedule module at a group level.
The following restrictions also apply if the user is NOT an Administrator:
- The user must NOT be set as a client if "CLIENT MODE" is enabled, clients do not get access to the Realtime updates feature
- The option "EVERYONE CAN VIEW BOOKINGS LINKED TO PRIVATE PROJECTS" must be set to YES
- The option "RESTRICT EDITING OF BOOKINGS" must be set to NO
Additionally if the logged in user (regardless if they are an administrator) is also a resource, they need to have the "Schedule Booking View" option set to CAN SEE ALL OTHER BOOKINGS
Automatic Booking Locking
In addition to real time updates, you may wish to consider enabling the Automatic Booking Locking feature, which ensures that only one user is able to edit a booking at a time.