Skip to content

Invoice/Quote Templates

Tip

To access these settings, you will need to be in a group that has access to the Admin Module

If you've ever wanted to tweak the way your invoices or quotes look, FoxOMS's invoice and quote templates are for you. They allow you to define exactly the information that should appear in each section of the page.

These templates also use HTML and CSS standards, so there is really no limits to what you can customise.

Create / Edit a Template

Invoice Template

To create an invoice template go to Admin -> Module Settings -> Sales -> Invoice Templates and click the "New" button at the top of the screen. To edit an existing template, simply click on the desired templates name in the table.

Quote Template

To create a quote template go to Admin -> Module Settings -> Sales -> Quote Templates and click the "New" button at the top of the screen. To edit an existing template, simply click on the desired templates name in the table.

Note

From this point, we'll mostly talk about invoice templates, however quote templates are almost identical!

Template Editor

The template editor is a representation of the final invoice output. The page is broken into 9 sections which can have text, HTML elements and CSS coded into them. When creating a new template, the system default template is loaded in by default, to give you an idea of how the shortcodes can be placed.

Template Name

Template names are only seen by people creating invoices and are not shown on the final invoice.

Shortcodes

Shortcodes listed in the right sidebar show all the possible variables that will be replaced when the invoice is generated.

The logo shown on the invoice can be changed by clicking Change Logo. Logos can be uploaded on the System Settings page.

Invoice Template Editor

CSS Customisations

Warning

You will need to have a basic knowledge of HTML/CSS coding including how to inspect webpages for styles. We can't provide support for HTML and CSS customisations.

It is possible to further customise the look and layout of the invoice by adding a style tag to one of the invoice textareas.

<style>
// CSS Code Goes here
</style>

Each of the 9 textareas has a unique CSS ID selector, ie #topLeft, #topRight which you can utilise to scope your code.

Invoice Layout Selectors

The invoice items table (#items) also has the following selectors for your convenience (note the difference between ID's and classes)

Column CSS Selectors
Item Name .item-name
Item Description .item-description
Item Unit .item-unit
Item Quantity .item-quantity
Item Cost .item-cost
Item Tax .item-tax
Item Discount .item-discount
Item Total .item-total

Example

To hide the cost and total columns you could utilise the following code:

#items tr td.item-cost, #items tr td.item-total {
    display: none;
}

Set Default Template

You can select a default quote and invoice template that will be automatically selected when you create a new quote/invoice.

To change the default template, select the corresponding star button in the 'Actions' column.

Quote Default Template Buttons